Recipients announced for the 2017 Diversity Scholarship Fund

Every year Frost Brown Todd (FBT) reviews dozens of applications and nominations for our Diversity Scholarship Fund. Established in 2010, the scholarship fund annually distributes $10,000 in financial assistance to diverse students currently enrolled in law school. These students, as evidenced by their record of academic success and community service, demonstrate values that are in concert with those outlined in the FBT Vision Statement. This year, after much deliberation, committee members Michelle Harrison and Justin Fowles have announced that our recipients are five individuals of varying age, background, interests and legal ambition. Their names are:

Among this talented quintet are honor roll students and dean’s listers. Many of them are presidents of student associations and members in national organizations. They’ve held judicial clerkships, taught and mentored high school students, and in some cases earned advanced degrees in other fields before enrolling in law school. Though each recipient is unique and impressive in their own right, the one unifying factor is their potential to have outstanding legal careers.

We commend their accomplishments thus far. These individuals represent new voices, new perspectives, and as such, they’ll be tremendous assets to our professional community. We stand eagerly by to see what the future has in store for them.

Learn more about this year’s recipients in our October 30, 2017 press release.

About the Diversity Scholarship Fund

Because the debt burden of law school often serves as a barrier to hard working and talented individuals, so many of whom are students of color, the Diversity Scholarship Fund was created to offset some of those costs. At the same time, as part of our Diversity & Inclusion efforts, the scholarship fund is one of the many ways FBT is building a pipeline of diverse attorneys.

The committee itself, which convenes in September to make final decisions, draws upon a diverse membership, with attorneys and staff from varying levels within the firm’s network. Nine individuals participated in this year’s selection process: Justin Fowles, Michelle Harrison, Jared Tully, Kyle Johnson, Tessa Castner, Jordan Szymialis, Michelle Jeffreys, Anamar Naish, and Jacinta Porter. In addition to the scholarship fund, FBT continues to do educational outreach at middle and high schools and makes recruitment visits to law schools throughout the academic year. Come find us on the recruitment trail or contact our Diversity & Inclusion Committee  for more information.